Authorities in New Hampshire announced a surprising second arrest in connection with the case of a New Hampshire teenager who was recently charged with killing two Massachusetts women on bicycles.
The 19 year old teenage girl was arraigned this week on charges of negligent homicide and second-degree assault. However, police announced that they made an additional arrest, of a 48 year old woman, who was subsequently charged with providing drugs to the teenager on the morning of the crash, and for also allegedly allowing the girl to drive without a license. Her official charges included selling a controlled substance and an offense of allowing an improper person to operate a vehicle. The relationship between the two women is unknown at this point in time.
The teen involved in the crash was reportedly traveling at very fast speeds, and claims that she took her eyes off of the road for just seconds, resulting in the fatal striking of the two bicyclists. Two others were seriously injured. The probable cause hearing for her case is tentatively scheduled to take place on October 8.
Although authorities reported the arrest of a woman who reportedly provided the teen driver with drugs, there was no mention regarding whether the girl was in fact under the influence during the time of the collision.
Massachusetts laws regarding vehicular homicide vary depending on whether the driver was intoxicated at the time of the collision.
The law is divided into two subsections: misdemeanor vehicular homicide (§ 24G[b]), caused either by operation under the influence, or reckless operation, or negligent operation; and felony vehicular homicide (§ 24G[a]), caused by operation under the influence coupled with either reckless or negligent operation.
For example, the statute regarding misdemeanor vehicular homicide in Massachusetts applies when an individual causes death to another individual while driving:
- with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.08 or greater, or
- while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, marihuana, narcotic drugs, depressants, or stimulant substances, or
- who operates a motor vehicle on any public way recklessly or negligently,
A conviction under this law is punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days, up to 2.5 years, or a fine of $300-$3,000, or both.
Thus, due to the fact that there are multiple potential factors involved in proving that a driver was acting in a negligent or reckless way, it is crucial to have the counsel of an experienced Massachusetts motor vehicle homicide attorney.
If you or a loved one has been charged with misdemeanor or felony Homicide by Motor Vehicle, you need an experienced and knowledgeable Massachusetts motor vehicle homicide criminal defense lawyer. The Law Office of Patrick J. Murphy has over the 18 years experience in investigating cases, providing sound legal advice, and aggressively representing our clients who have faced a wide array of criminal charges. Allow a talented Massachusetts homicide defense attorney to defend your rights aggressively in order to avoid a conviction for the offense charged, and to minimize or avoid the imposition of harsh legal consequences. Contact the Law Office of Patrick J. Murphy today in order to schedule a free, confidential consultation. You can reach us by calling 617-367-0450 or through this website.
More Blog Posts:
Man Released Due to Dookhan Controversy Re-Arrested, Boston Criminal Defense Lawyer Blog, published September 19, 2013
Boston Police Execute “Molly” Sting Operation, Boston Criminal Defense Lawyer Blog, published September 12, 2013